Changing/Flashing the SD Card on a Raspberry Pi

Posted: March 9, 2014 by schoolpiclub in General News

Apple Pi Baker

It’s only a matter of time before the 4GB SD card in the Raspberry Pi becomes full. Time-lapse videos and photos take up a lot of space and up until now I’ve been deleting them once we have finished the project.

Just in case our next Time-lapse project is a big one I’ve decided to upgrade from the 4GB SD card (which came with the Raspberry Pi) to a 16GB SD card.

I purchased an ordinary blank 16GB High Speed SDHC card. The problem now is, I’ve  done a lot of work on my Raspberry Pi installing software, setting up camera modules, installing automated VNC setting on start up etc, so how do I transfer everything from the 4GB SD Card to the new 16GB card?

It’s not as simple as copying and pasting the files so I had to do a bit of research. I needed to make an .img backup from the 4GB and transfer this .img to the new 16GB. This link http://elinux.org/RPi_Easy_SD_Card_Setup  had all the information I needed. I use a MacBook Pro so I followed the instructions for Flashing the SD card using Mac OSX and I downloaded the ApplePi-Baker, this software was very easy to follow.

  1. First I insert the 4GB card into my Macbook and the SD was visible in the ‘Pi-Crust’ box (if your card does not appear press the refresh button to the right of the ‘Pi-Crust’ Box).
  2. I then pressed the ‘Backup SD-Card’ button and chose the location to save the .img file.
  3. The backup process will then begin and it will pop up to say when it is complete.
  4. Remember to unmount/eject your SD card before removing the SD card from your mac/PC.
  5. Next insert your new SD card.
  6. Again the new SD card should now show in the ‘Pi-Crust’ box.
  7. Now select the ‘IMG to SD-Card’ button and browse to the location of your .img file.
  8. The .img installation process will now begin  and it will install on your new SD card.
  9. Again REMEMBER to unmount/eject your SD card before removing the SD card from your mac/PC.
  10. Once complete insert your 16GB SD card into your Raspberry Pi and all your work will be there.

If you’re a Windows PC user follow these instructions Flashing the SD Card using Windows

Comments are closed.